Art / Design, England

20:50

My favourite by far from this morning was 20:50 by Richard Wilson. In the past, I have seen photos from previous installations of this so to actually stand in front of the real thing was a great experience. Ordinarily you enter this particular gallery on a mezzanine level and look down over it before descending steps into the space below.

When I walked into this room today, I noticed first a distinct smell of oil and my eyes were totally confused as to what exactly I was looking at. I stared down into it and finally connected the smell with the sight. The artist has half-filled the room with black oil, the black surface perfectly reflect the top half of the gallery space. I stared at it for a long time, it was weird because there is such a fine edge between reality reflection, its brilliant. I was quite scared taking pictures in case my glasses or camera fell in…!

saatchi gallery 6

saatchi gallery 7

saatchi gallery 8

Standard

Leave a Reply

