England

1:1 Terunobu Fujimori

Maybe it’s no surprise that of the 7 architects chosen for the V&A exhibition of small spaces, 2 were Japanese. My other all-time favourite architect is Terunobu Fujimori and so I deliberately rushed to seek out his work before the crowds arrived and I am so glad that I did.

This tea-house is quite similar to his most famous Takasugi-An (a tea-house built at the top of a tree); it’s timber walls have been burned and charred to protect the house from bugs, weather and, bizarrely, fire. I was happy just to stand and stare from the outside so I was overjoyed to realised I could go inside. It was such a treat to climb the ladder, sit inside this TINY space (2.7m x 1.5m) and wonder why it is that I am always naturally drawn to Japanese design. What I love about Fujimori-san is that his buildings express no ego, nothing pretentious or ‘fashionable’, everything is designed around the personality of the owner and few simple actions of daily life…

To spend time today inside 2 structures built by my 2 long-favourite architects, left me feeling excited and wildly happy. It’s a free exhibition so I am sure I will go back with Atsuko soon.

Fujimori 1

Fujimori 2

Fujimori 3

Fujimori 4

Fujimori 5

Fujimori 6

Fujimori 7

Standard

Leave a Reply

