Art / Design, England

Ideas

We had loads to do yesterday and were all over town for various things. One of the things was the Maison Martin Margiela exhibition at Somerset House, an exhibition celebrating 20 years of a fashion house that has had a massive influence on the fashion world. Apparently the main designers remain anonymous and quite a bit of mystery surrounds their work. While Atsuko loved the work, I had to look harder to find something I could relate to. The thing I found amazing though was the way they design their store interiors; one Paris shop was designed with tip-ex and Biro sketches over a simple site-photograph. If only I could produce design-work so effortlessly.

I didn’t really understand the work of MMM yet I walked away from it with the tiny spark of an idea for my own personal work; is this perhaps the point, and what has made this ‘brand’ so important…?

Masion Martin Margiela 20

Standard

Leave a Reply

