England

Tower Bridge Lift

A few weeks ago while walking across the river near the Tate Modern, I saw from a great distance that Tower Bridge was up to allow a boat to pass through. I truly thought it was a once-a-year occurrence so I got extremely excited but when I mentioned it to a friend, they weren’t in the slightest bit surprised (or interested).

It got me thinking, maybe it’s not that unusual, so I checked, and it isn’t at all. On Saturday we were up early and fancied coffee so went out towards Maltby Street via Tower Bridge and saw the first of about 5 lifts that day.

After closing the road off, the bridge lifts and drops in around 5 minutes (depending on the passing boat I guess). When you consider that each leaf of the bridge weighs over 1000 tons; the fact that the lift is practically silent is extraordinary.

Tower Bridge Morning Lift 1

Tower Bridge Morning Lift 4

Tower Bridge Morning Lift 3

Tower Bridge Morning Lift 2

Standard

Leave a Reply

