Travel

Saint Eustache

I couldn’t resist a visit to St Eustache next to Les Halles because I like this church so much (I had wanted to go to Saint Chapelle but the queue was way too long for me on this occasion, with my limited time in the city). Having said that I spent quite a long time photographing inside and the more I looked, the more I noticed heart-shapes in the details of the architecture and imagery. It actually sparked something that lasted the duration of my brief trip, I seemed to see hearts at every turn as I walked across Paris after this and it wasn’t all in my imagination.

IMG_4047.jpg

IMG_4054.jpg

IMG_4028.jpg

IMG_4041.jpg

IMG_4001.jpg

IMG_4004.jpg

IMG_4017.jpg

IMG_4022.jpg

IMG_4031.jpg

IMG_4044.jpg

IMG_4035.jpg

IMG_4048.jpg

IMG_4053.jpg

IMG_4056.jpg

IMG_4059.jpg

IMG_4061.jpg

IMG_4063.jpg

IMG_4067.jpg

IMG_4072.jpg

IMG_4078.jpg

IMG_4083.jpg

IMG_4087.jpg

IMG_4091.jpg

IMG_4100.jpg

IMG_4103.jpg

IMG_4071.jpg

Standard

6 thoughts on “Saint Eustache

  1. Absolutely gorgeous photos. I was recently there admiring Colbert’s tomb in one of the church’s northeast chapels; its sculptures are incredible. Did you happen to notice a plaque on the wall about Mozart’s mother? She died in Paris while visiting with the musician and he held her funeral service inside St Eustache. Like most churches here, the layers of history are extraordinary. Glad to see through your photos that you definitely appreciated your visit!

    • Thanks for the lovely comment, I didn’t notice the Mozart plaque – wow that is fascinating. I will have to go back and find it. You’re definitely right, even some of the most ordinary-looking parts of the city seem to hold such historical significance. I always love visiting Paris and it’s great to learn a little more each time I go.

  2. antiquityandadventures says:

    Wow…simply stunning photo’s what a great place.. you must of enjoyed every minute of your visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

