Travel

Coincidence

I’m not posting these photos quite in order this time around but there is a reason. On Sunday morning I went to Cimetière du Père-Lachaise, the largest cemetery in Paris. I had planned to visit because I heard it was beautiful; Oscar Wilde, Jim Morrison as well as countless famous French artists and poets rest there but despite that, I didn’t have anything in particular I felt I needed to see. It was simply near our hotel, I fancied the walk and thought I might have the chance to take some nice pictures.

Strangely though, despite only having less than an hour to explore over 110 achres, amongst many thousands of plots, I was taking a photograph (third down) and suddenly realised that the grave central to the shot belonged to the Keating family. Such a beautiful structure, I took a few more pictures and without really thinking, stopped for a quiet private prayer.

When I arrived home from Paris later that day, I heard the sad news that an uncle of mine in Ireland had passed away the day before. Today my father is attending the funeral and today I wondered whether my stumbling across a Keating family grave that day in Paris was maybe more than just coincidence. We are both thinking of the Irish side of our family this evening, goodbye Brian.

IMG_4686.jpg

IMG_4682.jpg

IMG_4694.jpg

IMG_4695.jpg

IMG_4698.jpg

IMG_4699.jpg

IMG_4700.jpg

IMG_4657.jpg

IMG_4737.jpg

IMG_4665.jpg

IMG_4723.jpg

IMG_4724.jpg

IMG_4728.jpg

IMG_4675.jpg

IMG_4661.jpg

IMG_4712.jpg

IMG_4749.jpg

Standard

10 thoughts on “Coincidence

    • Thank-you Ayako-san. I only met him a few times but you still feel it when it’s your family don’t you…? We are all doing OK though.

Leave a Reply

