Art / Design, Travel

Opéra

Kind of hard to believe that I managed to see so very much in just a day and a half in Paris. After a lovely breakfast with Atsuko again, I made time on my last morning to visit the Opera as it is such an incredibly photogenic building. This time, happily, I was able to see inside the actual theatre space which was closed off for rehearsal the previous time I was here.

The thing that I wasn’t expecting was the relatively modern ceiling painting in the theatre by Marc Chagall. Its bright colours contrasts the gold and red velvet of Louis XIV’s Opera House dramatically and was apparently extremely controversial when unveiled in 1964. It pay tribute to composers Mozart, Wagner, Mussorgsky, Berlioz and Ravel, as well as to famous actors and dancers. I loved it.

IMG_4553.jpg

IMG_4563.jpg

IMG_4411.jpg

IMG_4557.jpg

IMG_4576.jpg

IMG_4580.jpg

IMG_4599.jpg

IMG_4577.jpg

IMG_4575.jpg

IMG_4404.jpg

IMG_4583.jpg

IMG_4536.jpg

IMG_4538.jpg

IMG_4579.jpg

IMG_4416.jpg

IMG_4425.jpg

IMG_4435.jpg

IMG_4438.jpg

IMG_4440.jpg

IMG_4450.jpg

IMG_4452.jpg

IMG_4455.jpg

IMG_4477.jpg

IMG_4485.jpg

IMG_4506.jpg

IMG_4513.jpg

IMG_4519.jpg

IMG_4521.jpg

IMG_4528.jpg

Standard

9 thoughts on “Opéra

  1. Opera is in my blood so I make a habit of checking out the opera houses in all the major cities I visit. The Paris Opera is definitely one of the most beautiful and impressive I’ve experienced. One day I might actually get to see/hear an opera there. … Thanks for sharing … Be well … Dorothy 🙂

    • I imagine seeing a performance here would be like a journey to a time way in the past. We are hoping to catch something there one day too.

  2. antiquityandadventures says:

    wow…stunning great post, I,ve just told my partner we are going to go and see this in September any excuse to visit Paris :-)..thanks for posting

Leave a Reply

