England, Japan, Travel

Home

最近たくさん紹介している日本の写真を見ながら、わたしにとって日本は単なる母国以上のものになっているような気がします。10代の終わりから海外暮らしを続け、途中2年間東京で働いたものの、やっぱり私にとっての日本は少し特別で複雑な存在だと言えると思う。勿論、実家はいつも「home」だし、日本食好きで温泉ファンなのには変わりないのだけど、「日本」をひとくくりに考えようとするとどうしてもハッキリとしたイメージにならない。「自分が誰か」という問いと「自分はどこからきたか」という問いは、必ずしも同じ疑問ではない、ということなのかもしれません。

これについてはもう少し考えるという事にして。。。2国を「home」と呼べるのは本当に素晴らしいし、ラッキーな事です。

We have been posting lots of pictures from our Japan trip recently. It is interesting that Japan has become more than just home for me. I have been living/working in abroad since late teen and I always have slightly complicated feelings about Japan. Of course my family home in Japan is always my “home”, my favourite dishes are Japanese and I am a very keen onsen fan. But when I think of “Japan” as a whole, I cannot quite grasp what it means for me. “Who you are” and “where you are from” do not definitely mean the same thing.

I should give a deeper thought on this topic…but all I want to say is that its wonderful to call 2 countries as our home.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Home

  1. wonderful expression of feelings. I share your thoughts on being ‘home’ to two different areas. Even though it is just two cities for me, I also kept wondering about what home really is. Where I ended was trying to simplify it. There is always your home. Your origin. Where your roots are. For me, where I grew up and where my family still lives. And there is the place to be at home. Where you live at the moment, where your life is taking place currently. For me this is where I work, where I have my friends, my love. Everybody and everything is the reason why love to live where I live right now.

    But still, I don’t mind telling people where I come from. Simply because it made me who I am, influenced me most. And one should never forget his or her family home, but honor it respectfully.

    Thanks for your post. It is delightful to read that others have similar thoughts too 🙂

  2. Thank you for your thoughtful comment. I truly agree with you that one should keep “honour and respect” for your family home, most importantly I would not be who I am without it.

Leave a Reply

