Japan, Travel

Absorption

While we were in Kyoto, the place I was most eager to return to, was Ryoanji. On my desk at work sits a tiny greenish coloured bronze replica of this temple’s famous rock-garden which I bought the first time I visited, almost 10 years ago. Everyday I look at the model while my visuals render or large files slowly save. During those moments I can easily picture myself sitting on the wooden deck of the hojo, smell the timber structure and tatami floors and can almost feel the sunshine on my face; I dearly love this garden.

There are 15 boulders placed within the raked gravel rectangle, yet from a seated position only 14 are visible at any one time. It is thought that only through achieving enlightenment, can one see the 15th stone. It is an extremely peaceful place as visitors quietly sit and watch, contemplate and count the rocks. People are often fascinated by the minimal side of Japanese culture, Ryoanji belongs to the Rinzai sect of Zen Buddhism and has actually been used since 1450 as a Zen training temple, it surely must be one of the origins of Japan’s minimalist aesthetic. It was really great to spend some more time here and to add new memories to my own tiny garden.

IMG_9200.jpg

IMG_9213.jpg

IMG_9212.jpg

IMG_9272.jpg

IMG_9254.jpg

IMG_9122.jpg

IMG_9217.jpg

IMG_9154.jpg

IMG_9172.jpg

IMG_9260.jpg

IMG_9178.jpg

IMG_9203.jpg

IMG_9182.jpg

IMG_9183.jpg

IMG_9215.jpg

IMG_9204.jpg

IMG_9219.jpg

IMG_9221.jpg

IMG_9234.jpg

IMG_9244.jpg

IMG_9271.jpg

IMG_9274.jpg`

I liked this wikipedia info: tracing the meaning of Zen back through Japanese, Chinese and Sanskrit, it translates roughly as ‘meditative state’. Or ‘absorption’.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Absorption

    • At the local temple, we rang a bell like that 108 times at midnight on the stroke of new year. It is an amazing feeling to strike a bell like that with the huge wooden pole. I will show a few more bells in the coming posts.

    • Thank-you very much. I actually struggled at first with the direct sunlight flooding in a low winter height for a while, but once I relaxed and adjusted my settings, the pictures started to work.

Leave a Reply

