Art / Design, England

Fisticuffs

I’ve long been an admirer of this Irish street artist, we featured some of his work on Fashion Street last summer in our post Egg & Soldiers. Conor Harrington is a painter, and not just of the graffiti variety; he’s a seriously talented painter. Seeing his work on the streets creates fabulous contrast because much of his work would fit comfortably in the finest of fine-art galleries.

I follow Conor on Instagram (@conorsayboom) and this week noticed that he was painting somewhere in South East London, not too far from our house. Frustratingly, I couldn’t find out exactly where and work stopped me really looking in earnest until yesterday when I took the afternoon off. Happily I managed to find the wall but Conor had moved on, only the cherry-picker remained, the work was completed only hours before… Take a look at the work, these enormous fighters tower over pedestrians yet the detail is incredible, this is one of the most powerful pieces of street art I’ve photographed. I would have loved to have photographed this in work progress…

I include pictures of a couple of other recent works that have recently gone up around Shoreditch, one a collaboration with Maser. I’m dying to find more.

IMG_4211.jpg

IMG_4282.jpg

IMG_4190.jpg

IMG_4183-Edit.jpg

IMG_4236.jpg

IMG_4216.jpg

IMG_4217.jpg

IMG_4224.jpg

IMG_4194.jpg

IMG_4210.jpg

IMG_4213.jpg

IMG_4215.jpg

IMG_4233.jpg

IMG_4243.jpg

IMG_4245.jpg

IMG_4248.jpg

IMG_4250.jpg

IMG_4263.jpg

IMG_4274.jpg

IMG_4287.jpg

IMG_4290.jpg

IMG_4188-Edit.jpg

IMG_4103.jpg

IMG_4107.jpg

IMG_4108.jpg

IMG_4137.jpg

IMG_4144.jpg

IMG_4141.jpg

IMG_4138.jpg

IMG_4135.jpg

IMG_4146.jpg

Standard

9 thoughts on “Fisticuffs

    • At first I was thinking that the cars were obstructing the artwork but pretty soon I realised they were just adding to the fun! And I loved the fighters reflected in the pub windows opposite. Thanks for the kind comment as always.

  1. Elizabeth Rubin says:

    gorgeous pics and artwork! I will have to go for a wander to find it now.
    Good work you clever man x

Leave a Reply

