Music, Travel

Grumpy’s

Just as I was thinking to go and pick up my bag from the hotel then head back to the airport, I walked past a small bar and the crisp sound of jazz trumpet filled my ears. Peering through the grimy glass, I realised that it was a live performance of My Favourite Things and couldn’t resist a look inside. On this damp Saturday afternoon, the bar was half full, with people of all ages soaking up a live session from what I think must have been the regular session band, Virus Quintet.

I can’t tell you how much I wanted to stay and listen for the rest of the night but London was calling, and I had to leave Melbourne. These are my last few pictures from Australia, I can’t wait to go back. Scroll down through the pictures and listen to ‘The Mooche’, it should give you an idea of why it was so hard to leave Grumpy’s that afternoon.

IMG_5439.jpg

IMG_5093.jpg

IMG_5094.jpg

IMG_5086.jpg

IMG_5085.jpg

IMG_5095.jpg

IMG_5096.jpg

Click below to hear Virus performing at the 2012 Wangaratta Jazz Festival.

Standard

Leave a Reply

