England

Supermoon

I didn’t think I’d get to see the moon last night, on a night when everyone was talking about it, because of the weather. I didn’t get the full effect of the supermoon as it was almost midnight when the cloud thinned enough for me to see it and by that time it was high in the sky. The clouds were moving so fast across the sky but I got a gap of around 15 minutes to see and photograph the moon so clambered up onto the roof with my tripod.

For a first attempt at shooting the moon, I’m reasonably pleased but I really want to have a second go, to try to get sharper images. I think maybe my central London location is not good, there is a lot of light-pollution here. And I also want to understand stacking my photos to layer up several shots and combine them into one, detailed image. Did anyone else see the moon last night…?

IMG_5369.jpg

IMG_5348.jpg

IMG_5380.jpg

IMG_5394.jpg

Standard

8 thoughts on “Supermoon

  1. C.w.Lim says:

    May I know what camera and lens are you using? My photos never came anywhere as sharp and as beautiful as yours.

    • Of course, my kit is not particularly fancy actually, these were taken using a canon 550d with a 70-300mm lens attached. I did use a tripod though and took the most successful shots on a 2 second self-timer to avoid shake.

Leave a Reply

